Student Accomplishments

Courtney Thurston Named Goldwater Scholar

Courtney Thurston, an Honors Program student double majoring in Computer Science and Computational Mathematics, was named a 2018 Goldwater Scholar. 

Courtney is a former high school valedictorian, Google CodeU scholar, and a 3x Microsoft intern in software engineering. On campus, she is an Undergraduate Researcher in the ASSURE Unmanned Aircraft Systems Center of Excellence, the student lead at the Women's Engineering Institute, the Teaching Assistant for SE300 Software Engineering Practices, a tutor in the College of Business lab, and a member of Omicron Delta Kappa & Upsilon Pi Epsilon. She was also recently named a National Honorable Mention for the NCWIT Collegiate Award.

Austin Ogle Awarded Boren Scholarship for 2017-2018 Academic Year

Austin Ogle has been awarded a Boren scholarship to study in Kyrgyzstan during the 2017-18 academic year. Austin is an Honors Program student majoring in Engineering Physics and Computational Mathematics at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. He studied Russian at the School of Russian and Asian Studies in Bishkek. This experience built on a previous State Department Scholarship titled National Security Language Initiative for Youth (NSLI-Y). Through this scholarship opportunity he studied in Chisinau, Moldova and Narva, Estonia for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Miles Bengtson Becomes 2017-2021 National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellow

Honors Program graduate Miles Bengtson was named a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellow for 2017-2021. His other accomplishments and awards include Air Force Research Laboratory Space Scholar, International Space University Space Studies Program Class Speaker, Goldwater Scholarship Honorable Mention, among many, many others. He was also named the 2016 ERAU Honors Program Outstanding Graduate and ERAU Engineering Physics Outstanding Graduate.

Social Media

Contact Us

Daytona Beach Campus
1 Aerospace Boulevard
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114

Honors Logo